Update Since My Last Blog Post

Laptop [Converted]

Sorry for the delay in making this entry folks life became a little busy for me and other things took precedence. I am pleased to report that the laptop I was working on is done and back in the hands of its very grateful owner. It went back to my customer the day after my last entry as a matter of fact. I uninstalled a lot of bloatware (trial programs that computer manufacturers routinely install on their new computers in order to look like they are giving you a lot). I detest bloatware. If you are going to load programs on my computer then be fair and give me full programs at least….sheesh!! Anyway, I also installed AVG Free Antivirus and then set it up to do a thorough scan of the entire computer. An hour or so later the report came back with an astounding 44 warnings of Trojans, viruses, malware and other nasty stuff. No wonder this laptop was in a bad way. I checked the details on most of these and most were of medium severity but WOW…one was a really nasty, dangerous one…in fact AVG warned that it could not be removed or healed. This, in the end, proved to not be true…I just had to assist with its removal. It took a series of a scan, remove, scan again, remove some more and carefully uninstalling various toolbars and unwanted programs to get the computer back in shape. I thought at one point I would have to Fdisk, format and reload the computer but the problem was that my customer relied on using Skype to keep in touch with family overseas. Now, she is not computer savvy in the least and when asked about the sign in information for Skype I got a blank stare – the person who set it up for her was her sister in Italy when she was visiting last. OK…so now I must find a workaround. I did not want to leave her without Skype which was vital to her.  The end result, I was able to completely clean the viruses, Trojans and malware out of the computer, remove the bloatware and stop all unwanted programs from spamming her with pop-ups. I was able to work with her ISP by providing all security details to them and was able to reset her email password once the machine was clean. This being done, I then set up a shortcut on her desktop that would sign into her email automatically (Chrome browser will remember your passwords if you give it approval in the settings). I also wrote the new password down and told her to put it in a safe place. She was so happy that instead of the $60. I asked for my services she gave me $70. =) Nice!!!

The weather has been annoying, to say the least. First we had snow and a fair amount of it…then it rained overnight and all the next day leaving grass showing in the backyard, then it froze…now it is back to snow. I really wish Mother Nature would stay on her meds and decide to be spring, summer, fall or winter not all of them at once. Gawd!!

My sister has a horrible head cold and a touch of the flu and my mother has bronchial pneumonia (a fairly serious case of it at that – she is 79). Luckily my sister and our mother live together but unfortunately, they live far away and I can not go help them with both of them being sick. That worries me but I keep in touch with them via phone and email so at least, there is a connection there and that feels good. Last time I talked to my sister they were both on the mend thank goodness.

I am hoping life can get back to a normal pace for a while…I so need that. I think I am beginning to get sick. There has been a lot of nose blowing for me today and I feel achy…  I will try to be a little more consistent with my blog entries my friends. Thank you for sticking with me and poking your head in the door every now and then to see how I am doing. I really do appreciate your support and your patience with me as I begin adding this regular blog posting to my routine. Until next time – be good to each other, please. Always be kind to the people you meet – you never know what battles people are facing and you might be the only bright spot in their lives.

