Inspired by Daily Prompt : Susan The Mighty Mediator

A Bird, a Plane, You!
mediation2

You get to choose one superpower. Pick one of these, and explain your choice:

  • the ability to speak and understand any language
  • the ability to travel through time
  • the ability to make any two people agree with each other

This post is in response and inspired by the Daily Prompt – today’s prompt is shown above.

Okay, so my superpower would be the last one. First, I want to explain why I did not choose either of the first two. The first one, the ability to speak and understand any language, would be great but since my world is pretty limited in scope I don’t think I would get to use my superpower very much. What fun would that be? I mean, if you had a superpower you would want to exercise that bad boy all the time…am I right? I do have this blog and a YouTube channel along with a lot of other social media accounts but even with all that I do not interact with enough people in different languages to make this one work for me. Feel free to choose it for yourself, though – it is a mighty fine superpower and I don’t know anyone who has got it yet so you would stand out every time you used it. Okay on to the second choice, the ability to travel through time, now this one almost got my vote. It would be so interesting to travel through time. I am assuming that means forward or backward in time since you would need to be able to do that to get to another point in the timeline. I would not want this superpower though because any shift in the timeline by changing the smallest thing could send ripples of change all down the line to the present day and I would not want to mess things up on that level. I would be too scared to use this superpower for fear of doing major damage to world events and personal lives.

My choice of a superpower is the ability to make any two people agree with each other. This would be so useful even in my little corner of the world. Think about it, it would be handy personally when it comes to family members that are currently estranged due to differing opinions and grudges held from long ago. Apply my superpower and Bazinga (to borrow Sheldon’s phrase from The Big Bang Theory) hurt feelings and grudges would disappear like magic. Spreading a little further out I could use it when it comes to shopping where disagreements over parking spots, sale prices and bumping into people with shopping carts can spark untold amounts of anger from some people. I could even try to use it online…start a counseling business that includes mediation with social media access. I would start another channel on YouTube just for this though to make it easier to get to instead of having to search through all my other videos up there in cyberspace. There is so much anger and stress in the world these days it is hard to think of a place I couldn’t use this power. The world would be a better place. I could get world leaders to agree with each other and possibly stop wars that are in the process of developing or even stop wars that are currently going on if I could get the two opposing sides together in one room. Yes, I like this superpower – it would come in handy indeed.

Please let me know in the comments which one you would choose and why. I would be really interested in your take on this idea. Thanks for visiting by my blog. I appreciate it so much – it is so nice when friends stop by. =)

 

 

