Dr.Seuss was a genius!

quote

 

The theme for today’s post comes from the daily prompt from January 27th which was Quote Me . It asks us to consider the following and then write a post about it.  Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you? 

The quote, above, is my favorite and I think that is because not only are those wise words but also because it resonates with me on a deep level. This wise man speaks the truth, or at least it should be considered as such in my opinion. 

Okay, let’s break it down into smaller bits and really try to understand the deeper meaning. 

Be who you are and say what you feel – can you imagine how freeing that is? This is how I envision living my life one day. Let’s face it, we are all a work in progress and none of us has this all figured out. I try to live up to that standard but sometimes doubt creeps in, will people really accept who I am? I feel the pressure to conform to what people expect me to be, how they expect me to act. If I were true to myself, I would not care how people felt. I would simply be who I am. Full stop. 

because those who matter don’t mind, – think about that a minute. The people who matter are those close to us, that care about us and how we feel. They accept us faults and all, they accept us for who we are and it is up to us to simply BE who we are. 

and those that mind, don’t matter. – do we really need to twist ourselves in all kinds of knots to change for those people? Don’t we have a right to live our lives exactly how we want? I mean, as long as we are not hurting anyone? We have as much right as those people, who criticize us for being who we are, to live our lives as we choose just like they do.  

For a long while, I actually had that blazing across my desktop screen to remind me each morning when I turned my computer on. Now my desktop screen displays an ocean and beach view because that is what I am focussing on currently. In Northern Ontario right now the weather goes from sunny and warm to overcast and cloudy. I choose to start my day looking at the beach scene and feeling the warmth and hearing the waves even if it is only in my mind. LOL 

Thank you for dropping by to read my thoughts once again, my friends. I do appreciate it. If you liked this post please consider hitting that like button down there. If you are new to my blog and like what you see please consider following my blog so that you can be notified when I publish another post. I am curious, too, what is your favorite quote? Why does it move you? I would really love to hear what you have to say. =)

 

2 thoughts on “Dr.Seuss was a genius!

Comments are closed.