It’s raining, it’s pouring… the old man is snoring. =)

rain black and white

As I sit here at my computer writing this the rain continues to fall outside my window. It started in the wee hours of the morning and has not stopped yet but I must get up and start completing dinner soon. It is 5:15 PM already. Boy, the day flies by fast when you read a book and fall asleep on the couch. I had my couch time earlier this afternoon, not too long after lunch, in fact. Now it is my husbands turn to grab a few Zs. I don’t know what it is about the rain that makes one tired. I had sufficient sleep last night (at least I am pretty sure I did) but I could not hold my eyes open very long once I picked up my book. I finished it today and am already on to my next one. I am a voracious reader and have bookcases full of books to prove it. LOL

There are pork chops in the slow cooker smothered in cream of mushroom soup with an extra can of mushroom pieces and stems thrown in for good measure. I must get up shortly and peel the potatoes I need to make whipped potatoes, my hubby’s favorite, to go along with the corn. Tomorrow night we will be having chicken when my best friend comes to visit. I get to see her for the first time in three or four years. I also get to meet her boyfriend this time so I am looking forward to that. I am not sure what recipe I will be using with the chicken but there is time to figure that out.

Even though the rain outside makes me tired it also makes me happy to be warm and dry inside. I sip my hot cup of tea and write this blog post and cannot think of anything I would rather be doing. Sure, the sunshine and hot weather are nice for swimming in the pool and working on my tan but I know that the earth needs this rain. Otherwise, the fire ban will be in full force again due to the risk of the dry grass and hay burning in the fields that surround us. I also like bonfires and if there is a fire ban is in force there won’t be any of them in my future either. So I welcome the necessary rain and use this time inside to do something I love, writing my thoughts down in my blog. Now I am off to the kitchen to finish preparing a hot and satisfying dinner for Kevin and I. Have a wonderful day/night everybody. Thanks for visiting my blog once again. I do appreciate it. =)

