My Turn To Do The How I Read Book Tag

tea and books perfect combination

I was browsing through the Reader when I found

 How I Read Book Tag  on bookishthingsandtea.wordpress.com 

Have a look at McKenzie’s blog if you like bookish things. I am not sure whether the tea is optional but I grew up on tea so I am all good in any case. LOL  She has some pretty cool posts up there. I am enjoying her writing and have hit the follow button. 

It looks interesting so I thought I would have a go at answering the questions. In effect, I tagged myself as I was invited to. I would like to, in turn, issue the same invitation if you feel so inclined – tag yourself!

These are my answers …so here goes.

 

HOW DO YOU FIND OUT ABOUT NEW BOOKS TO READ?

For the most part, I look at Goodreads or my public library and sometimes I find a treasure or two at a yard sale in the summer. I like to keep my cost low as possible which gives me the ability to read more books.

 

HOW DID YOU GET INTO READING?

I still remember being thrilled when my mother gave me the book Ballerina Bess. That book introduced me to the fascinating world of reading and the ability to enter other worlds in my head.  In fact, I still have it on one of my bookshelves. My reading habit has only gotten worse over the years.

 

HOW HAS YOUR TASTE IN BOOKS CHANGED AS YOU’VE GOTTEN OLDER?

Obviously, I am way beyond the scope of picture books with simple words underneath them at my age. I now have a couple of favorite authors Stephen King and Lee Child although I do read from other authors as well. I prefer fictional stories that range from horror to mysteries and occasionally I like to pick up a series where authors lead me from one book to the next. 

 

HOW OFTEN DO YOU BUY BOOKS?

I only buy books at retailers when I absolutely must read the latest from one of my favorite authors and can’t wait for my local library to acquire a copy. When it comes to birthdays and Christmas I suggest books that I would like to read to anyone who asks what they could get me. Smart, right? I also take advantage of yard sale bins where books usually go for .25 -.50 cents each. 

 

HOW DID YOU GET INTO BOOK REVIEWING?

I dabble in book reviewing on Goodreads occasionally but I am always leery of writing spoilers and ruining the book for someone else. I would hate to do that as much as I hate it being done to me. 

 

HOW DO YOU REACT WHEN YOU DON’T LIKE THE END OF A BOOK?

I feel cheated, frankly, because here I have invested my time and emotions into reading the story for sometimes hundreds of pages only to be left with an unsatisfactory ending. That is just not right in my opinion. There, I said it. 

 

HOW OFTEN DO YOU TAKE A SNEAK PEAK AT THE ENDING TO SEE IF THERE IS A HAPPY ENDING?

I don’t take a sneak peak at the ending of books…it is no better than reading spoilers to me and taints everything I read  from the beginning afterward. In short, I think it ruins the book experience. 

 

I TAG…

You…yes, you. That’s right, the one reading this post right now. If you read to this point of the post you must be interested enough to have some answers to these questions for yourself. I would love to find out How You Read too. 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Turn To Do The How I Read Book Tag

Leave a Reply

