It’s coming…yes, fall is almost here!

fall in the country

Brrr, fall is almost here I can feel it in the air, especially at night. The nights get cooler as the year dwindles down toward autumn and I have put a heavier blanket on our bed already.

This year, the autumnal equinox falls on September 22, 2016, at 10:21 A.M. EDT. This equinox occurs when the Sun appears to cross the celestial equator from north to south.

We have had a couple of cooler days with tremendous winds along with rain and lightning. Even today, though the skies have cleared for the most part the temperature is down to 12 degrees with a high of 22 degrees predicted.

I am sad to see the summer retreating once more. It has been an extremely hot summer with lots of heat warnings and high humidity that made it hard to sleep or even breathe some days. Swimming in the pool is over now.

Perhaps this is why I feel this cooling off so acutely. It is such a stark change to the way things have been for nearly two months or more.

As you may or may not know, we recently moved to our new apartment out here in the country. This brings with it surprises in store for us this coming winter as we have never lived here before.

It is once again almost time to pack away the summer clothing and bring out the sweaters, long pants, long sleeved tops and warm housecoat. I usually keep a couple of summer wardrobe staples handy on the off chance we get a brief Indian summer in the midst of this cool, wet weather.

My purse has already been changed over to a darker larger version of itself in keeping with my usual ritual of the switchover to fall. I will also need a new winter jacket soon since my last one was donated during the great purge performed in anticipation of moving here.

There is time yet, I hope, to find one I like at a good price. For the time being, I do have warm jackets for fall weather that will take me up until the first snow.

I shudder when I think of that white stuff layering the ground and making the roads treacherous. That is another thing we will have to get used to…winter driving out here in the country.

Luckily this is a bus route for school children so the plows will be out keeping the roads clear. Okay, stop Susan; you already have it snowing in your head. LOL

Some people look forward to fall with bonfires (okay, I like bonfires too), hot chocolate, Thanksgiving and closing up the cottage. We all have rituals we go through every year as we prepare for the next season…those of us that have seasons, that is.

Every year I drag my feet while moaning and groaning about the dying of summer. It is my favorite season after all! I suppose that too is a ritual. Hmm, never thought of it like that before.

Stay warm, my friends and thank you once again for stopping by to visit my blog. I appreciate each and every one of you. =)

 

2 thoughts on “It’s coming…yes, fall is almost here!

  1. Can you PLEASE send some of that cool weather to South Korea?! Please please please!! *she says while sobbing at the foot of her AC* I need some relief from the heat! I’m going to start playing Christmas songs in my apartment just to “think cold thoughts” – first up “I’ll be home for Christmas” but I will be skipping the “if only in my dreams” line since it will be most definitely real.

    Like

    • Sorry, I would if I could. =( I still have some warm days up here where I am but the nights are cool and the mornings too. LOL, Your ideas of coping sound like they might just work, though. I just had a conversation with my sister today about this very subject…she is still getting extremely hot weather and almost had a meltdown on me when I wrote that I had put a heavier blanket on my bed! 😉 My suggestion to cool off? Lots of cool drinks featuring ice cubes and liquid of your choice. =) Thanks for visiting my blog. I always look forward to your comments. =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

