Color Me Less Stressed =)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You must have heard all about this coloring craze by now. Adult coloring books have made companies, that produce them, money hand over fist.

Focusing on coloring is a soothing activity that leaves all your worries and stress behind you. I want to get some to try, these kinds of pictures are right up my alley.

The little child in you comes out to play and gets to be creative. These books are so refined, intricate and elaborate begging you to bring them to life with color!

There are books with intricate designs like the ones I have featured in the slideshow above and there are intricate pictures of landscapes and people and everything imaginable.

Fine-tipped markers or pencil crayons are the usual media but I have also seen paint sets or pastels used as well. You can find them in almost any genre you are looking for.

If you like horses, say, or cats, or city streets there are books that will capture your imagination and have you looking forward to sitting down with a coffee and engaging your senses.

These things are reasonably priced as well…talk about not getting stressed out. LOL, They can be found anywhere from bookstores to your local WalMart. They sit there tempting me on the shelves as I pass by on my way to pick up food, pop or my prescriptions.

They sit there tempting me on the shelves as I pass by on my way to pick up food, pop or my prescriptions.

Much like coloring pages for kids that you can find for free on the internet and print at home there are adult coloring pages up there too. Hmm, I just got a new black tank for my printer.

A couple of memories come to mind of other colorings I have done since I hit my teenage years.

The first memory is purchasing a coloring book for older kids, Bugs Bunny and the gang if I remember right. I also bought a brand new 64 pack of crayons with the sharpener on the back.

Do you remember those? That was the ultimate crayon box that all kind of kids wished for. So many colors to choose from and the names on the wrappers were so interesting.

I was older when I bought those, although I am not sure of my exact age I do recall I was almost in high school. It was during the summer and we were visiting some friends at their cottage.

It was so relaxing and revitalizing going back to my coloring days like when I was four or five. That was then when I was not that far from those early days, to begin with. Today I am much, much older and the thought of coloring again makes me feel whimsical.

The second memory is of those posters you could get with designs like these in a tube and you got a pack of thin markers in with it. The design I had was a long winding road with all sorts of weird and wonderful cars and vehicles and people.

Some posters had that fake velvet everywhere that the design wasn’t. Depending on the design it could work to your benefit to have the bright colors stand out extra bright against the black background.

My long winding road full of weird and wonderful people and vehicles was not the velvet kind. This I do remember, all these years later I can still picture it in my mind and see with great clarity the man with the exaggerated step forward wearing this fringed vest with a peace symbol on the back.

Next time you are in your local bookstore or WalMart have a look on the shelves for adult coloring books and the kits you can get with fine markers or pencil crayons.

Tell me that they don’t call out to the little kid in you that is begging as you walk by to please, please, pulleezz can we get one. Come on…how can you resist that face? =)

Happy coloring one and all!

6 thoughts on “Color Me Less Stressed =)

  1. I have one of those books! From Johanna Basford, I think she was the first to but out the adult books and then everything spiraled from her. I thought I would REALLY love it and have it finished in no time, but its been over a year and I’ve only done about 10 pages out of the book! I just don’t have enough different shades of green or brown!!! LOL it’s so relaxing! I want her ocean book as well. She makes her books into little quests where you have to find certain pictures to “unlock” a castle door or something. It’s great

    Liked by 1 person

    • I will be 55 this November! Good for you for colouring with your granddaughters I am sure those are memories they will treasure when they get our age. I haven’t bought any of the colouring books for adults yet either. I am glad to hear the price is coming down because $17 per book and up (here in Canada) is still way too much for my budget. Thanks for your thoughtful comments Mark and for visiting my blog. 😀

      Like

Comments are closed.