Music: The soundtrack to my life.

 

 

hintergrund-musik

Today’s post is another one involving music from The 365 Writing Prompts. You can find them here -> 365 Writing Prompts (downloadable) by The Editors here at WordPress.com.

Musical:  What role does music play in your life?

My short answer to that question is that music plays a major role in my life. In my previous post, I shared that I used to play clarinet and flute in high school.

I have tried to play guitar and am now going to tackle learning the mandolin. That is my passion now, as you can easily see when reading my last post.

Aside from playing an instrument I really enjoy listening to music. It speaks to my soul and helps me relax or think about problems.

Music also makes me happy and sometimes it makes me cry. It touches me and moves me; that is what makes a song great.

I have a CD/Cassette Tape/AM-FM Radio tucked into the corner of my kitchen counter. Before I start doing dishes or cooking a meal I either turn the radio or the CD on.

It makes those daily repetitive chores pass by faster and more pleasantly. Quite often I find myself singing along…maybe off key (lol) but it makes me happy.

Then we have the CD/Radio deck in our car. We tend to put on music when we are in the car; we call it traveling music only turning it down when going through a Tim Horton’s drive-thru.

Okay, next place I really enjoy music is at church. We have live musicians at the front of the stage and words are put on a huge drop-down screen to remind us so we can sing along.

I do prefer the more contemporary songs in church as I can relate to them more and the beat and rhythm are more to my liking. There are some hymns we sing too, a lot of our congregation is made up of elderly people, and they like what they are used to.

I have a couple of huge folders of music on my computer that I have collected on CDs over the years and converted to mp3s so I don’t have to keep a stack of CDs on my desk or feed the CD/DVD reader-writer one after the other.

The music is sorted into the folders titled worldly music and Christian music. My taste in music is varied and I do have some favorite artists but I find they change over time.

The genres of music I tend to gravitate to are; the current hits playing on the radio, contemporary Christian songs,  I used to like country music although that doesn’t appeal to me now. The songs I listen to tend to change depending on what is going on in my life at the moment.

I don’t care for the grunge sound or head banger type of music. I don’t like a singer screaming into the microphone. I need to be able to hear the lyrics clearly and they have to mean something to me.

Songs don’t need to be ballads necessarily with a story behind the words but they have to make sense and resonate with me in some way.

I find music helps either rev up my energy level to power through household chores or helps me calm my thoughts and emotions so I can wind down for the day. Music is integral to my very being.

When I hear a song I immediately know whether I like it or not, as far as I am concerned music is not like food, there is no acquiring a taste for music types. Either you like it or you don’t.

For example, you can not force yourself to listen to opera music hoping to eventually like it. That sounds like sheer torture if it is not interesting to you right off the bat.

It is not like liver, it does not matter how you cook it…that is not the key to liking it. I don’t like liver by the way. LOL 😉

Please keep in mind that all of what I have written here is my personal opinions. If you like opera music that is great – I am glad you enjoy it. As for me, I am not interested in opera in the least.

What kind of music do you like to listen to? When do you listen to songs? Do you play an instrument?

All these questions are flooding through my mind right now. Would you do me a favor? Leave me a comment letting me know what role music plays in your life.

Thanks, folks, I appreciate everyone who stops by my blog to read what is on my mind. Wishing you a wonderful day/night whatever it is where you are reading this right now. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Music: The soundtrack to my life.

Comments are closed.