Something Amazing Happened

raven-1373630_1920

I don’t know how I have not seen anything like this before in my fifty-four years but today I saw a murder of crows. They took over our neighbor’s front lawn and a little bit of ours.

Nature is weird; when animals of any great quantity congregate and act as if of one mind it kind of freaks me out a little.

Let me share what I learned with you because I find this fascinating and you may too. The term ‘murder of crows’ is a mystery lost to us since it’s inception in the 15th century.

It may have to do with superstitions of the time when violent death was associated to the crow or their signature harsh raucus cries.

It may have to do with the fact that they are black which is the traditional color, or rather lack of color, prominent at funerals.

There is also a story the Blackfoot tribe passes on through the generations of how the crow came to be black. I will paraphrase that story here.

They say that at one time it was the most colorful of birds and all other birds were black. One by one the other species of birds came to the crow and asked to be a beautiful color.

As the crow gave away one color after another to the birds that asked all color was eventually given away and we are left with the black bird we see today. 

Today, I saw my neighbor’s front lawn jam packed with crows; en masse. Earlier this morning my husband heard a large number of crows and sent a drone up to take video of them.

He was unable to find the field they were in at the time and came away with a nice video of fields but not a bird in sight.

However, this afternoon while he was  busy elsewhere on the property I saw the crows swarm onto our neighbor’s lawn.

I managed to grab my iPhone and take this video which I then published on my YouTube channel. Sorry for the lack of clarity at times but it was the only camera I had on me at the time.

I did not want to go in the house and chance the opening of the door would cause me to lose the opportunity to capture this jaw dropping spectacle.

They were not there one minute and I barely blinked my eyes and there were hundreds of them. This is what I meant when I said nature is weird.

Nature is able to go from nothing to everything in literally the blink of an eye! They disappeared just as quickly.

There are lots of references to this term on the internet and a lot of fighting for one side of the discussion or the other I am afraid.

People cannot seem to agree on how this term was coined and why a flock of crows was named this way. Many theories abound, though.

Many view the appearance of crows as an omen of death because ravens and crows are scavengers and are generally associated with dead bodies, battlefields, and cemeteries.

They’re thought to circle in large numbers above sites where animals or people are expected to soon die.

I have personally seen many crows, over the years, by the side of or in the middle of the road picking at the carcasses of animals killed by passing vehicles.

But the term “murder of crows” mostly reflects a time when groupings of many animals had colorful and poetic names.

For instance, there is a folk tale that crows will gather and decide the capital fate of another crow.

I encourage you to Google “murder of crows” for yourself and learn about all the various reasons for naming a flock of crows as such.

There are some Audobon members comments that I ran across online that were annoyed, that is their wording, that people still refer to a flock of crows as a murder of crows.

Really, there was and I have no idea why they would get so upset over someonelse’s terminology.

In my life when I find myself curious about things that happen to me or that I come across, like a massive flock of crows I want to do some research to better understand.

For example; did you know there was a film called A Murder Of Crows made in 1999, or a play of the same name written in 1992 by Mac Wellman, and a studio album of the same name made in 2003 by Deadsoul Tribe?

The way I think of it is learning is a lifelong journey and given that I have the internet and a local library with books I might as well learn about this phenomenon now that I have witnessed it for myself.

Thanks for once again stopping by my blog to see what is new and happening in my world. Have you ever seen anything like this? I would love to hear about it in the comment section if you have.

I am also happy to hear anything you have to say, question or comment, so please feel free to leave a note in the comment section too.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

