Reasons To Say No Thank You To Negativity

Today’s post is inspired by another prompt from 365 Days Of Writing Prompts

Third from the top – Head to your favorite blog. Scroll down to the third post in the list.Take the third sentence in the post, and work it into a new post of your own.

no-negativity-allowed-here

I have chosen one of my favorite bloggers BeautyBeyondBones for this assignment. The third post in her list, at the time of this writing, is titled

 7 Things I Learned This Election Season   <—and you can find it here. Please go check her blog out I enjoy her posts which are written with heart and spirit.

When I work the third sentence into this post I will put it in bold type so you’ll know.

Have you noticed a lot more people are negative now more than in the past? Sure, there are people that are upbeat and cheery but I find I am running into more grumpy naysayers in my day to day life.

It starts way back in childhood when our parents veto what we want to do. It is their job to impose limits and boundaries for us. Children need to know where these limits are in order to feel secure.

I mention it only because this is the first place we meet up with a firm “No” and are crestfallen to discover that we are not free to do whatever we want.

After this first harsh lesson at home with our parents, we are subjected to negativity from classmates in the schoolyard.

No, you can’t play hopscotch with us, no we don’t want you on the team; heartbreaking messages when you are young.

Rejection is hard to take at any age but seems to cut deeper when we are young and haven’t been toughened up by life yet.

There are a lot of negative emotions as you can see in the graphic below.

shame-927084_960_720

I personally do not see the need for nor the validity of such emotions…I mean really; what purpose does negativity serve?

We feel bad and if we are already spiraling downward into depression this certainly doesn’t help.

In fact, negativity at that stage could push us into doing something rather permanent due to a temporary feeling.

After dealing with negative people and negative feelings for a lot of years (almost 55 years as a matter of fact) I am more than ready to declare something.

I can’t take the negativity any longer!

When people get in a bad mood because of life stresses or something is not going the way they had hoped it can be quite easy to lash out at those around them.

Often the targets of these temper tantrums are the very people who care for and are trying to help them.

In their negative mindset quick tempers and biting words are the chosen response to helpful suggestions.

I am not saying that I never get in a bad mood or a negative frame of mind but I am cognizant of those around me and would rather keep to myself than lash out.

To put it bluntly, I can not stand the negativity in myself any longer either.

Stressors abound in our world today; unemployment, rising prices on everything, relationships get stressed and the news on T.V. is rarely the good kind anymore.

Traffic is jammed on the commute to and from your job if you are lucky enough to have one, or to and from stores or appointments.

negativity-post

All of this adds up to the world full of people who find themselves in a negative spin. Everyone seems to be angry, frustrated and snappy these days.

Our court system bears witness to our society that would rather sue than talk rationally when there is a problem.

Everywhere we look there are negative attitudes, negative consequences and the government enacting laws that tell us we can’t do this or that.

Sometimes all this negativity makes me want to hole up in my house and live in isolation as much as possible unless I need to go out for food.

Since moving out to the country I can tell you our trips into the city where we used to live stresses me out. The distance doesn’t bother me so much as the crowds in the stores.

People can be rude, inconsiderate and downright angry over the smallest things and I find I am more aware of it now that I live out in the country than when I lived right there in the city.

I believe it is because I am no longer immersed in and desensitized to it, after living in peace and quiet, that it is more apparent to me now.

Do you find there is more negativity around you lately? How do you deal with it? Please let me know in the comment section.

Thanks for visiting my blog once again to read my thoughts today. I do appreciate you stopping by. Have a wonderful day/night and I will be talking to you again. =)

 

no-1532789_1920

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Reasons To Say No Thank You To Negativity

  1. I do agree that there’s a lot more negativity around right now, Susan. I think it’s due to the insanely fast pace of modern life, the ‘news’ which is just sensationalized entertainment and, of course, circumstances of the moment – most recently and especially the U.S. election. But I also agree with you that we have a choice and that it is always, always, always better to be positive. I do what you do – I enjoy my home, I enjoy my serenity. I only see television news if I’m walking by the screen when it’s on – and I make sure to walk by fast! Just as we wouldn’t accept a toxic person into our home and inner circle, so too we can reject the toxicity that surrounds and sometimes threatens to envelop us. We can choose the positive way and we, and everyone around us, will be better for it. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Karen, I am glad it is not just me that sees the world going this way. I agree with your views of what the news really is as well.

      I think those of us that live in the country where it is quiet and peaceful have the biggest advantage because we can choose to stay away from the intense busyness of city life. That is where all the negativity abounds in greater numbers.

      I do feel sorry for those in cities, now, as I stated it is only since moving I have become aware of it. When I lived in the city that was just life and I had forgotten any other way of being. I am so thankful that I now have that choice and that awareness. 🙂

      Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving such a great thought provoking comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

