Can I Just Curl Up Somewhere And Die Now Please?

bed-1836316_1920

Hi, everyone! Today’s post is all about sleep or rather the lack of it. So, this happened last night and into the wee hours of this morning. I thought I would share it with you in a post.

After dinner last night I had the worst stomach ache. It was a doozy; I have not felt pain like that in a long, long time. There was no reason for it either; I did not overeat and what I ate my husband ate and he did not feel ill.

pain-1015573_1920

For some reason, my stomach was bloated and rock hard. If you have ever experienced that you know how much that hurts and there is nothing to be done, that I have found in any case, but wait it out.

I did not even have one of these.

hot-water-bottle-1800752_1920

I used to have a really good quality one but somehow it got left behind during a move I made years ago. Sadly, I have never thought to replace it; until now.

I attempted to lay down for the night at around 10:30 p.m. After tossing and turning for a little over an hour; I could not find a comfortable position to sleep in plus the pain would not let me sleep anyway.

Around 11:45 p.m. I got out of bed and crept to the living room so I would not wake my husband. I turn the tri-light lamp on in the corner propped myself up with pillows and covered my lower half with an olive green microfiber blanket to stay warm.

time-1725214_1280

There I sat with my 747-page book reading trying to take my mind off the pain. I found that if I did not move much the pain would subside a little.

I sat like this for hours. I made it through close to 100 pages. Thankfully it is a riveting page-turner of a book.

Around 3:30 a.m. I decided to take a hot shower to see if the heat would help my stomach muscles relax a little. It is at times like this I miss my bathtub.

Did you know you could mimic the effects of a hot water bottle by laying down surrounded by hot water? That was my go-to remedy when I needed a hot water bottle and didn’t have one.

Ever since moving out here to the country all we have access to is a shower. The hot water did help a little but I was getting really tired and did not want to stand in the shower for too long.

There is a seat molded into our shower unit but no matter how I adjusted the shower head I could not get it to reach the right place.

After toweling off and getting dressed in my PJs again I returned to my previous position in the living room.

Just as I got back into a semi-comfortable spot I remembered that peppermint tea is good for digestive issues.

So, off to the kitchen I went in search of my variety tea stash. I have a tub of a variety of single wrapped and boxes of herbal teas.

I remembered the bright green foil packets that contained my peppermint tea bags.

teabag-549799_1920

It was such a eureka moment when I was able to pull that plastic tub out of one of my upper cupboards and spotted the green foil.

Yes! I was in luck I still had almost a dozen peppermint tea bags left. With a quick boil of my cordless kettle, I soon had a peppermint tea bag steeping in a cup; which I carried back into the living room.

Setting the tea mug down on the side table by the couch I once more nestled myself into the pillows and blanket setup I had figured out previously.

I picked up my book again and when the tea had steeped until it turned the water a beautiful deep green I began sipping intermittently.

peppermint-tea-1109

My poor stomach; I did not want to add more to it but regarded the tea as a medicine that must be drunk if I were to even hope to feel better.

Eventually, the mug was emptied and I had read another 5o or so pages when I noticed that my stomach was not hurting as badly.

alarm-clock-1193291_1920

Did I dare to attempt laying down and chance the pain returning? With my eyes beginning to burn and a headache threatening to start I decided to chance it.

I returned my mug to the kitchen not even bothering to remove the spent tea bag before placing it on the counter.

I glanced at the time displayed on my microwave oven before leaving the kitchen and did a double take. Could it seriously be 5:30 a.m. already?

Indeed it was, no wonder my eyes were burning. Shutting the light off in the living room on my way through to the bedroom I found my way to my side of the bed in the pitch black.

This was a familiar route since I made on average one to two trips to the bathroom in the middle of the night every night to pee.

My husband never woke up as I slid under the covers and settled into a comfortable pose on my left side. I had been told by a nurse once that laying on your left side is better for you.

I have no idea why that is so but with this memory I just landed in bed on my left side. Closing my eyes and focusing on my breathing ended up sweeping me off to dreamland. Finally!

My husband woke me with a fresh pot of tea, as is his custom, at 8:30 a.m. so we could get on with our day and head over to clean the church.

Ugh, three hours of sleep and now I had to scrub the toilet, clean the vanity, Windex the mirror and empty the trash.

I have not had a nap yet and am still plowing through the day. The time now is 3:31 p.m. and here I sit at my computer writing a blog post. :0

Well, I shall end this post here and go start making dinner. I believe an early dinner and an early bedtime are in order today. Thank you very much for popping by to read my post today.

If you have stuck with me this far into the post; you have my undying gratitude because that means I have not written all this in vain.

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Can I Just Curl Up Somewhere And Die Now Please?

  1. Hi susansperspective. Often get this take a tablet to ease the pain. Thank you for wanting to follow my poetry adventures. Very interested in all things Paranormal! Looking into conspiracy theories! UFO’s! Observing this crazy dangerous and unstable society! Writing a passion that has kept me sane and alive! Great to meet you. #TheFoureyedPoet.

    Like

    • You are welcome for the follow. Your blog looks so interesting since I am into the same stuff; paranormal, conspiracy theories and UFO’s, the whole shooting match! LOL So wonderful to meet you as well. Looking forward to reading more of your writing. I view writing the same way! I am not sure what would happen if I were to ever stop writing and I must admit I don’t want to find out. 🙂 Have a beautiful day my friend.

      Like

    • Thank you for your kind words and your recommendation of ginger and lemon. I will try to remember that in future as an alternative worth adding to my stash of herbal teas in the cupboard.

      Wishing you a pleasant remainder of the weekend too! =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

