Update On: How To Schedule Your Time Making Your Days Count

On November 8th this year I wrote a post titled (clicking on this link will open that post in a new window)

How To Schedule Your Time Making Your Days Count

I mentioned at the end of that post that I would write an update in one month’s time to let you know how the schedule I made was working out.

Long story short, it didn’t work out. 😦

woman-1006100_1920

Here is what I think happened, my carefully worked out list and plans did not mesh with my real life issues.

My plan/schedule was too regimented with no built-in flexibility for the curves life sometimes throws at you.

I had everything scheduled and set up on my iPhone with alerts when it was time to change to the next activity. I was trying to keep a schedule that would allow me to do a little bit of everything.

It seemed a little better to get some of everything done than to complete one task and miss other equally important tasks altogether.

Ahh, what to do…what to do?

woman-71735_1280

So I am back at square one; not completely, though…maybe square two? I mean I still have the list of things that I need to get accomplished. Now I just need to figure out how to do it all.

I need something that will work with my life; that will be flexible so that I can adjust on the fly, when I need to, without throwing the whole thing in the garbage and starting again.

One thing is certain, what I was trying did not work for me. It was a success nonetheless because I did find out a way that didn’t work and can now eliminate that  from my list of things to try.

light-bulbs-1125016_1920

One more idea bulb burned out….next! Onward we go…charge!!! LOL 😉

My iPhone has now been scrubbed of all my best-laid plans and alerts. To be honest, the alerts were driving me a bit batty.

The phone was chiming in with another alert all the time and at one point my only thought was “ugh, what?…what now?”.

Therefore, I have decided that I will not be using the phone for this anymore. I will still set up alerts and reminders for scheduled items like doctor appointments or when my library books are due, but not my day to day schedule.

 

What is the next idea to try? Does anyone have any thoughts to share on what I should try next? What works for you?

I would really appreciate hearing from you in the comments and I thank you for stopping by to see what I had to say today. 🙂 Have a wonderful day/night.

8 thoughts on “Update On: How To Schedule Your Time Making Your Days Count

  1. Perhaps running a two-day schedule instead of trying to fit everything into one? I love to make checklists and cross things off. Since you would need the same one over and over why not laminate it? Or print one which has little boxes that last for a week or a month so you can check it off?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your suggestions…they will be next on my things to try list. I love crossing things off To Do lists too. What a great idea to laminate it…very time saving rather than writing the same list over and over. I really appreciate your comments and like the idea of spreading things over two days as well, maybe that way I would have time to breathe too! LOL 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love all things productivity focused so am rubbing my hands in glee that you have invited ideas for next steps. There are many, many ideas but you are wise to test out one thing at a time. So I guess my ‘one thing’ suggestion is to decide what your ‘one thing’ is each day. I know, I know. We all do a million things a day. The idea here is to start getting clear about what’s really essential in your life and make sure that’s booked into your day. Today it might have been writing a blog post. Tomorrow it might be having an afternoon nap. It doesn’t matter what it is as long as it’s something that allows you, at the end of the day, to say, “I’m so glad I got x done.” Once that one thing is booked into your schedule – and yes, you can set an alert JUST for that if you want to – go ahead and do all of the other things you feel you need to do. Better yet, don’t set an alert. Do your one thing first thing in the day whenever possible and know that you’ve accomplished your most important work before you’ve even had lunch. I think you’ll be amazed at the energy you then have for taking care of the myriad of other tasks in your day. Good luck, and keep us posted please!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! 🤗 At this point I will gladly take your suggestion. You’re rubbing your hands in glee and I am heaving a huge sigh of relief for having another idea 💡 to try. LOL I really appreciate your guidance and support Karen. I bow 🙇 to the wisdom you have gained from your study of all things productivity based. What you are suggesting sounds totally doable. One question though, when am I supposed to decide what that one essential task is ? The night before or the morning of? I will definitely keep you all posted. 🤓

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Susan, Sorry about the delay in replying to your question. I find it useful to write down all of my top priorities for the week in advance. That way I can easily decide my top priority for a day. Sometimes I decide the night before, sometimes the morning of. I think that totally depends on your personality, how you like to work.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

