Wrapping All The Way Was A HUGE Success!

 

wrapping-all-the-way-program-cropped

I am extremely pleased to report that the play was performed for a packed church for both performances. Saturday night was the premiere and Sunday morning was an encore.

We shot video both times and I am waiting for the final go-ahead for approval to upload the Saturday evening event to YouTube so it can be watched along with the others you can find up there.

Some parents have yet to agree to that happening. None of the kid’s names are listed in the credits of the video. Either way, as I understand it, each cast member will be given a copy of the play on a USB thumb drive as a memory of their part in it.

The kids just saw the videos tonight during their regular Kids Club Tuesday night meeting. I am told by the director that they are very pleased with their efforts and had a lot of fun.

Saturday night we got underway at 5 P.M. sharp and it took about half an hour start to finish.

After the play ended and the kids had taken their bows there was thunderous applause and a standing ovation from everyone in the audience. A few minutes later they sang their final song as an encore.

christmas-crib-figures-1060059_960_720

At the end, the Pastor presented the director (his wife) with roses for all her hard work and dedication.

She, in turn, thanked all who helped bring this play to reality and of course God for providing the children. At the beginning of October, there were only 3 children interested in being part of the cast.

All across the stage were 16 kids each with an integral part of the story. That is a miracle in itself, 13 more kids agreed to be in the play and they practiced every Tuesday night plus a couple of extra run-throughs right up to opening night.

In very short order they mastered complex dialogues, songs, actions to those songs, who they interact with and where to be on stage.

I am incredibly proud of these guys for getting up there and giving it all they had.

christmas-tree-in-field

I would be struck dumb with stage fright, I am sure. The girl who played Sparky had her cat die the night before the play and woke up the next morning to be told about her cat.

She still showed up and soldiered on even though she was grief stricken. Just amazing…I am in awe of all of them.

The children were sent downstairs to change out of their costumes in order to preserve them for the next morning’s encore performance. Shortly after that, their families were sent down to be with them.

There were tables reserved for the cast and their family members so that they could sit together during dinner. Aside from that, there were dishes, silverware and cups etc. for 175 people in all.

The Amish community was hired by the church to cater a full turkey dinner buffet style. All one had to do was file past the serving tables and be asked what you wanted to be added to your plate.

photos-medleyphoto-8422638

There was a choice of white meat and dark, stuffing, peas, carrots, coleslaw, mashed potatoes, gravy, cranberry sauce, rolls (both white and whole wheat) and butter.

There were people circulating among the crowd serving coffee, tea, and an orange drink. As soon as your meal was done there was someone who showed up to inquire if you would like dessert.

Dessert was a scoop of ice cream and a chocolate cupcake drizzled with marshmallow and caramel was beside it on the plate. Mmm, it was delicious.

Sunday’s encore performance of the play took place instead of the usual sermon. There were gremlins in the midst during that time.

The CD used to play the music that the children sing to, at one point, did not sync up correctly and they had to eventually go on without one horn blast to announce the Queen of Tuneville.

The audience laughed off the glitch and the children took it in stride and continued on. In the end, they received another standing ovation!

standing-ovation-2desc

Hubby and I were surprised at the church when we were there practicing for this Saturday’s worship (Kevin will be playing guitar up front and I am going to be on Soundboard again) as part of our Christmas Eve service.

Mary came up to us and handed us a present for Christmas and the card attached thanked us for all our work on Wrapping All The Way.

We were given two mugs with scripture on them and a large tin of Quality Street Chocolates. Mmmm…who doesn’t like getting spoiled? LOL 😉

There will be a Christmas Day service at the usual time too but I will be staying home to welcome my son, his wife and my 2 1/2-year-old grandson. They will be traveling  approx. 3 hours up to see us for the day from their house down south of us.

When my husband is done playing for the Sunday service he will be home to join us. Their plan is to get an early start on the trip up here so they can spend the better part of the day with us before having to return home.

I am looking forward to taking lots of pictures and video of the little guy since they stay small for such a short time.

Seeing pictures of him I am amazed at how much he looks like his Dad at that same age.

We are having ham this year. Frankly, we are done with poultry for a while and I am thankful that I did not have to cook or clean up a turkey dinner.

I am looking forward to seeing my son, daughter in law and grandson. It has been a long time since seeing them last.

Their gifts are waiting for them under the tree and I can’t wait to see them open them on Sunday. That to me is my greatest joy…seeing others opening gifts more so than opening gifts given to me.

I will end this post here as there is a lot of house cleaning and baking I want to get done before they get here.

merry-christmas-happy-new-year-greetings

But first I want to wish everyone reading this a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. If you celebrate something else I wish you a happy one of those as well. 🙂

Thank you for your support during this first year of my blog. I appreciate each and every one of you whether you are following my blog or just happened to stumble upon this post on your first visit here.

christmas-nature-snow-falling-house-scenes-wallpapers

4 thoughts on “Wrapping All The Way Was A HUGE Success!

  1. Thanks again Karen, it is comments like this that inspire me to keep writing post after post. 😀 Sorry for the delay in replying to your comment but life at our house, like that of many people around the world, has been a flurry of activity over the holidays. 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your experiences, Susan. The detail you’ve given makes me feel like I was right there. I can hear the pride in your voice as you talk about the kids in the play; the ‘yumm’ in your voice as you talk about the meal and the gift of Quality Streets (the Quality Street orange and strawberry chocolates are my all-time favourites), and the excitement in your voice as you anticipate the arrival of your son, daughter-in-law and grandchild.
    I’m finding it difficult to believe that Christmas is in a couple of days. Steeped in Christmas as you have been, I imagine you’re having no problem recognizing this time of year!
    Merry Christmas to you. Thank you for writing your blog for a year – that’s quite an accomplishment – and for letting us into your life. Enjoy your holiday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, thank you, Karen, for your wonderful comments! I am so happy that what I am trying to convey is coming across loud and clear. Thank you for letting me know.🙂 I totally agree about the orange and strawberry chocolates in the Quality Street tin.

      You are correct about being steeped in Christmas and not having trouble believing Christmas is just a couple of days away. What is disheartening to realize is that after all this build up Christmas will be here and over way too quickly. It will then be another entire year until it happens again.😦

      Merry Christmas Karen, and I want to wish you and yours a very healthy and prosperous New Year as well.😀

      I do recognize blogging for an entire year to be quite an accomplishment – no thanks are needed.😉 I have enjoyed writing my posts here and am so pleased that people such as yourself have been wanting to read what I have written. So thank you for that, without you and others like you I would be writing into a void with no sense of community, no responses or connection to others at all. Onward to 2017!🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

