Decisions About A Book For My Grandson, Ethan.

img_3102

I got some excellent advice on my questions on my last post. I want to thank both of those people for their wise counsel. I have done a lot of thinking since that post and those answers and have decided to write a storybook for my grandson. Period. Full stop.

It will be a one of a kind book created and produced exclusively for Ethan. I have decided against writing any other children’s books for the public. My heart is not in it when it comes to getting something like that published.

notebook-360063_1920

However, my heart is entirely in it when it comes to making one for Ethan. As a result of this decision, I have decided to work on a story outline personalized to Ethan. He will be the hero of the story.

His Dad, my son James, is a fan of all things dragon so a dragon must be involved in this story. I will have to learn how to draw a friendly looking dragon as well.

I think I want to make him a friendly dragon that guides and protects Prince Ethan just as James does for the real Ethan.

 

dragon-1490404_1920

Something like this might work (image from Pixabay)

 

Yes, I believe that will work and would be an excellent jumping off point.

I will be writing the story first so that I have an idea of what to draw at crucial points in the story. I will also begin taking photographs of Ethan I took this past Christmas and teaching myself to draw his likeness in various poses.

school-1974369_1920

So far I have not been able to sit down and draw or do any sort of artwork since the New Year. I am pleased to report that my other two goals are right on track. I talked to my best friend out west for two hours the other night. 🙂

I have been able to almost finish my first book of my reading goal of 40 books this year. This should all be in a separate post, really, but I wanted to explain that the drawing part of this project is a bit delayed.

Not to worry I will get there!

pen-1911740_1280

In my next post, I should have a rough outline of the story written to share with you. Thanks for stopping by my blog to read my thoughts once again. I hope you have a wonderful day/night wherever you are. 🙂

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Decisions About A Book For My Grandson, Ethan.

  1. I think your plans sound great, Susan. It’s so good that you’ve given it a lot of thought and are feeling so confident and so certain in your decision. I’m willing to bet that kind of conviction will lead you to success, just as you are having success in achieving your other goals. Way to go!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

