Sneeze, cough, sleep…being sick sucks!

cold-1972619_1920

Hello again everyone, I am sorry for the lack of posts for the past while. I am finally feeling up to sitting here and composing a post to let you all know what’s been going on.

This cold or flu or whatever it is hit me on January 16th. When it did it hit me like a Mac truck. In fact, I hopped on my Facebook account and asked if anyone had gotten the license plate. LOL

It was weird the way it took turns with my body parts. It started with a sore throat then went to headaches. From there it hit me with such a lethargy I spent a lot of time sleeping and reading.

Fever was the next stage and at this point I was miserable. Then came the sneezing and runny nose which reactivated a sore throat and headaches.

I don’t mean to go on and on whining is really not me. I just wanted to let you all know if there was any way to keep content going here on my blog and on my YouTube channel I would have made it happen.

flu-1679104

I think now that I must have picked up this bug at church although it could have been anywhere really.

Somehow I fought nausea and coughing etc. to keep up my commitments to my church. We have only a couple of people, myself included, that can run the sound board.

I didn’t want to leave them stranded with no one and figured I would not infect anyone if I didn’t hug anyone or get too close. The entire service I stayed up in the sound booth and tended the board.

Everyone who saw me, including the Pastor, commented that I should be home in bed but if I was determined to come in that they would pray for me. We even joked that we should pray the rest of them not get this. So we did just that!

influenza-156098

Slowly I am feeling better each day and this blog post is step one to getting back to my routine. I still take naps when I need to and am restricting activities to what I need to do.

So what else have you been up to Susan?

Okay, I did work on my story outline for my grandson’s book a little bit.

I have a cast of characters listed which includes; King James, Queen Crystal and Prince Ethan, the townsfolk in the kingdom and our friendly dragon of course. I still haven’t thought of a name for him.

Basically, I am going for a story in the style of Robert Munsch. I want to introduce the Kingdom of? (no idea what to call that either yet) the castle and those who live in it. I will then expand out to touch on a few of the townsfolk.

Word will come from an attack on the kingdom from the next kingdom over. Prince Ethan will be playing in the backyard of the castle and befriend a dragon perched on the castle wall.

Through this friendship, Prince Ethan will save the kingdom when the attack happens by calling on his new friend the dragon to chase away the attackers.

Once the kingdom is safe again there will be a huge banquet held in honor of Prince Ethan the hero. His dragon will make an appearance at the banquet to share in the glory.

dragon-1490404_1920

Again…thinking of drawing a dragon like this guy. ^ (I did not draw this it is just meant as an example).

I know this storyline has been written many, many times before but by personalizing it to Ethan and his parents and coming up with my own dragon I will make it my own.

What do you think so far? I would love to know your thoughts on the direction I am going with this.

I am considering making the book using plastic page protectors which I can slide pages into back to back and then seal the tops with tape.

I think this would give the pages some durability from the many, many times it is read to him (hopefully). I will probably then stitch the pages together using the holes where they are meant to be put in a binder.

If I just slap them in a binder some would get lost once he learns how to spring the clips open. Trust me with my grandson this will not take long to figure out….he is pretty determined when he wants something. ๐Ÿ˜€

On a final note, I just learned, today, how to run the laptop using Easy Worship 2009 to put the pictures and words to songs, scripture etc up on the screen at the front of the church.

Our usual person who runs the laptop during service is away right now so the one other person who can do soundboard will sub for me there and I will be on the laptop this Sunday.

Life is interesting if nothing else and it continues to be a busy one for me so I am glad that I am finally on the mend.

Thanks for stopping by to read my blog post once again my friends. I really appreciate you sticking with me even though the postings are erratic. That means the world to me that you do that and I don’t take your attention for granted, ever. ย ๐Ÿ™‚

smiley-432563_1920

 

 

15 thoughts on “Sneeze, cough, sleep…being sick sucks!

  1. I’m glad to hear that you are feeling better, Susan. I’m also thrilled to see that you are making substantial progress on your book for Ethan. I wonder… maybe you needed to be sick so that, as you were drifting in and out of sleep, you had the time to think and imagine and plan your writing? Just looking for the silver lining!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Excellent idea, Karen, looking for the silver lining! Yes, okay, that could be what needed to happen to get the progress on Ethan’s book and if so I am all right with that. Thanks for your insights and suggestions. I appreciate your comments. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

    • Thanks…you know we have been talking about drinking more water lately. Well, all during this illness I have been drinking tons of water hoping to flush the yucky germs out of me. It seemed and still does like I can’t get enough water to quench my thirst. The first thing I did was check my blood sugar (I am Type 2 diabetic) and it was a tiny bit elevated due to being sick but nothing to throw up any red flags. Weird….I just keep drinking water.

      I hope you stay well my friend. This bug is a nasty one and I am still fighting the tail end of it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • You know when I first started drinking water I was feeling like I couldn’t get enough water as well. I have kept plugging away drinking half of my body weight in ounces and then some. I have noticed now that it is starting to level out and I’m not feeling like that anymore. I was wondering if maybe I was dehydrated and now I am getting normal levels of hydration. Just a thought. Thanks for your thoughts, I love our conversations:) love and hugs!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Good idea maybe that is what is happening to me too. I will have to keep an eye on it and see if it settles down like it did for you. I love our conversations too love โค๏ธ and hugs back. Stay well! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

